The section of the Canal du Midi that passes via Bram was created in 1675 and it boosted trade for this village.
An unloading site was set up close to the former town centre, next to the bridge that had been built to re-establish a route that was cut off when the canal was built.
In the early 19th century, a dock and building to house the inspection office and stables were built. The role of the navigation rights inspector was to check that the loads on the boats complied with the consignment notes. These notes were required for each load and were presented by the head of the barge upon request, to prevent fraud.
The inspector's house has now been transformed into a restaurant. The old facilities at Bram port can accommodate around fifteen boats.
Bram lock is 700 m further upstream, as the location of the locks was entirely governed by the topography of the land.
The history of the town of Bram dates back to Antiquity as it is located on the Via Aquitania Roman road.
Bram is a 'circular village' and the streets were built in a spiral around the medieval church of Saints-Julien-et-Basilisse, listed as a Historic Monument.
The Musée Eburomagus, from the original name for Bram, offers visitors the chance to discover the archaeology of this geographical area.